Publish, Save Draft & Discard
Generally speaking, changes you make to your website Pages and settings will be saved in 'real time' so you do not have to save as you go but the changes you make will not be 'Published' to your live website until you click on the Publish button on each page.
In the example above we have not edited the page so there are no changes to be published. As soon as we make a change (like adding an image for example), the Pages Settings section will change to show that the contents of the page has been updated.
We now have the following options:
- Publish - The changes will be saved and applied to the 'live' website.
- Save Draft - The changes will be saved but the 'live' website will not be updated until you click on Publish.
There is a third option as well which allows you to close the page without saving it, discarding all the changes you have made. That option is in the text directly below the Publish & Save Draft buttons.
Previewing a page
If you want to see what a Page will look like without Publishing it, click on the Preview button.
This will open a preview of the page in a 'popup' panel over the top of the Edit Page window.
To close the Preview, click on the X icon in the top right of the Preview window.
To view your live website, click on the Dashboard option followed by the Visit Website button.
This will open your website in a new browser tab.
There are a couple of exceptions to this Save / Publish process that you should be aware of.
- Menu Builder - Changes made in the Menu Builder (both Main Menu and Footer Menu) are applied to your 'live' website in real time.
- Design Options Page - Changes to your Design Options are saved in real time but not applied to your live website until you click on Save. You can see changes being applied in real time to the preview panel in that page.